Joint statement on behalf of the UN Security Council members that are Parties to the Rome Statute of the ICC

Read out by the Permanent Representative of Mexico, Mr Juan Ramón de la Fuente

I would like to make the following statement on behalf of the following Members of the Security Council that are Parties to the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court (ICC): Estonia, France, Ireland, Niger, Norway, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia, the United Kingdom, and my own country, Mexico.

We thank the ICC Prosecutor, Ms. Fatou Bensouda, for the presentation of the 33rd report to the Security Council on the situation in Darfur, in accordance with resolution 1593. We call upon all States to intensify efforts to secure the arrest and surrender to the Court of all ICC suspects-at-large. Moreover, we welcome the signature last February of a Memorandum on modalities of cooperation with Sudan as well as the recent visit last month of the Prosecutor to the Sudan. We commend the Sudanese authorities and the UN for facilitating this very important visit to Darfur.  We also welcome the Court-wide agreement on cooperation reached with Sudan in May. We trust that this cooperation will be consolidated and extended on the basis of constructive dialogue and mutual respect, with a view to bringing justice to victims of the atrocities in Darfur.

Moreover, we avail ourselves of this opportunity as States Parties to the Rome Statute to express our deep gratitude to Ms. Bensouda for her relentless work during her tenure as Prosecutor of the ICC. Throughout her nine years of service, the Court has faced many challenges and she has persisted in pursuing the mandate of the ICC in favor of international criminal justice without fear or favor. We recognize the hard work of Ms. Bensouda and her team to fight impunity and to bring perpetrators of the most serious crimes of concern to the international community to justice. We commend her legacy in this regard and wish her great success in her future endeavors, while expressing also our full support to Mr. Karim Khan as Ms. Bensounda’s successor.

Finally, we once again reconfirm our unwavering support for the Court as an independent and impartial judicial institution.