We must bring what is happening in Belarus to the world’s attention and hear from those on the ground. Briefers on #BYHumanRights: UN Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights in Belarus, Anaïs Marin; Belarusian opposition presidential candidate Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya; Vice-Chairman of the Viasna Human Rights Center, Valiantsin Stefanovic; Legal Expert for the Belarusian Association of Journalists, Volha Siakhovich. The meeting is chaired by Urmas Reinsalu, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Estonia. The meeting was initiated by Estonia and co-sponsored by UN Security Council members the United States and United Kingdom, as well as Canada, Denmark, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, and Ukraine.

Signature Event of Estonia’s UNSC Presidency: Cyber Stability, Conflict Prevention and Capacity Building

As part of its presidency of the UN Security Council, Estonia is organising a virtual meeting on Friday, 22 May at 10am (EDT) focused on stability in cyberspace, cyber norms and international law.

For the Security Council to uphold international peace and security in a comprehensive way, it must be up to date with emerging threats. The COVID-19 health crisis is further accelerating the digital transformation of states. At the same time, cyberattacks on hospitals and other medical institutions as well as different forms of online cybercrime have increased since the start of the crisis.

The event allows for participation from all UN member states, permanent observers and non-governmental organisations.

Prime Minister of Estonia Jüri Ratas will make the opening statement and Foreign Minister Urmas Reinsalu will welcome the speakers. The discussion will be led by the Permanent Representative of Estonia to the UN Sven Jürgenson.


  • Izumi Nakamitsu, UN High Representative for Disarmament;
  • James Lewis, Director for Technology Policy at the Center for Strategic and International Studies;
  • David Koh, Chief Executive of the Cybersecurity Agency of Singapore.

The meeting is co-organised with other current Security Council members – Belgium, the Dominican Republic and Indonesia – as well as Kenya.

The event is powered by Hybridity, a safe virtual event platform developed in Estonia. More information: https://globalvirtualsolutions.eu/