Spain to represent Estonia in issue of visas in 17 countries

TALLINN, Jun 17, BNSEstonian Foreign Minister Urmas Paet Monday in Luxembourg agreed with his Spanish colleague Miguel Moratinos that Spain would represent Estonia in the issue of visas in 17 countries of Latin America and North Africa.

Paet said that the aim of the representation agreements was to simplify travel to Estonia.

“It will make the application for a visa simpler for people who live in countries where Estonia has no representations,” Paet said. “The people who apply for a Schengen visa in order to travel to Estonia can turn to the Spanish embassy in those countries.”

Spain will represent Estonia in Algeria, Argentina, Brazil, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Colombia, Cuba, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Puerto Rico, Uruguay and Venezuela.

In countries where Estonia has no foreign mission, some other Schengen country may represent Estonia in the issue of visas. The representation is only connected with the issue of visas and does not extend to other consular services.

Applications for only short-term, transit and airport transit visas can be filed to the mission of a country representing Estonia. To apply for a long-term visa it is still necessary to turn to the nearest Estonian foreign representation.

Tallinn newsroom, +372 610 8861, [email protected]